Identifying fake friends from real friends


Hiya! Firstly I am going to apologise if this post ends up being rather long or it turns into a rant haha. Growing from being a child to a teenager to young adult you tend to learn life lessons along the way. I’ll admit I’ve learnt a lot and I’m still learning. I’ve realised quite a lot of things pertaining to ‘friends.’ I’ve lost friends and made new ones over the past few years and I’m okay with that. I do believe that everything happens for a reason. 

In high school I think everyone in my year group had a friendship group change at least once over the 5 years. I certainly did. Making friends is easy, it’s making the right friends that’s harder. You might think that you click with someone and that you get on well so yeah you’re now besties. You may think that yeah we have each other’s backs. The truth is, this isn’t always the case. It’s that same friend that you became besties with a couple weeks ago that’s spilling all of your secrets around the girls changing room. Now don’t get me wrong there are genuine friends out there and I’m happy to call them my best friends. What I’ve noticed is that friendships that develop quite quickly don’t tend to last. My best friends I’ve known since primary school or at least several years. Those friendships have had time to be tested and you’ve actually gotten to know each other properly. It’s quick to start talking to someone and call them your friend and you don’t really know what sort of person they are and if they are a fake friend or real friend. 

The second thing I’ve noticed is that larger friendship groups tend to have the most drama and two faced behaviour. In larger groups there tends to be smaller groups of closer friends. To be honest they only act as a big group because they think it makes them look better. That isn’t the case. A lot of two faced behaviour tends to occur in a big group. The snakey comments and bad mouthing each other behind their backs tends to be second nature. I would rather have one good friend that I can rely on and know that they aren’t talking about me behind my back than a big group of fake friends. 

Lastly, the fake friend is the friend that messages you ONLY when they want something coincidentally. They have never messaged you asking if you’re okay or how’s life going. You just see their name pop up and there it is “can you do me a favour please?” Or when they only ask you out when no one else is available. I don’t know about you but I am not going to be second best or a doormat. You have to be wary. 

I hope this post was helpful and I may post more posts like this in the future if anyone finds it useful. Just remember to be careful of the people you call your ‘friends.’
Signing out, 

-S

Leave a Reply

